Academic Committee

Corcoran Academic Committee

What is the Corcoran Academic Committee?

The Corcoran Academic Committee is a standing committee charged with considering all curricular affairs within the Corcoran School of the Arts and Design, including but not limited to fostering cross-disciplinary collaborations, working with program heads to adjust existing curricula, overseeing matters of accreditation or program review, and advising the Director on launching new programs, new majors or courses of study, or discontinuing programs or courses of study. 


Below is some basic information about the committee. Corcoran faculty and staff members can have access to more detailed information, including the committee’s monthly agendas, resource folders, and other information. To get involved or to get information about the Committee, please reach out to the current Chair at [email protected].

How often does the committee meet?

We generally meet once a month, though at particularly busy times may meet more frequently.

How far in advance do I need to send my materials?

Proposals for new programs and courses, as well as significant curricular revisions, should be sent to the Academic Committee at least one week prior to meetings to ensure a place on the agenda. Send content to the current Chair at [email protected].

Who is on the academic committee?


Academic committee 2020–2021

CHAIR: Suse Anderson (Museum Studies)

Michele Carlson (Studio Arts)

Loren Kajikawa (Music)

Jodi Kanter (Theatre & Dance)
[Interim Chair of Academic Committee, Spring 2021]

Bibi Obler (Art History)

Kevin Patton (Design)

Erin Speck (Interior Architecture)


Ex-Officio members

David Bjelajac

Susan Sterner