Do Not Touch
May 06, 2020

Online Digital Exhibition

Gallery 102 presents Do Not Touch, a virtual exhibition of recent works by students in the Corcoran School of Art and Design’s Critical Practices, Spring 2020 class. Participating artists include: Carla Arguello, Heesang Robin Cho, Myung Son Chung, Olivia Dias, Sujin Jinny Kwon, Laurana M Nyman, Kate Rice, Kate Sory, Maywadee Viriyapah, Sanjaya Wilson, and Rachel Zhang.

The familiar exhortation of museum wall labels, “Please do not touch the artwork,” has extended to, and amplified every facet of our lives, causing artists to rethink their daily studio practice, and perhaps more significantly, how they get their work out into the world.

An artwork is like a kid leaving home: it finds an apartment, dates some people, and grows in unexpected ways. Exhibiting is essential for the growth of the artwork and the artist. And in the absence of a physical exhibition, the show must go on. This catalog functions as an exhibition in uncertain times: the work within it was either reconsidered and adapted to this venue, or created specifically to live in this form.

View the digital exhibition here.