Faculty

photo of professor helping with photography spread

 

Faculty members at the Corcoran School are leading experts in art and design with ties to the most prestigious museums and art institutions in the world. They are dedicated educators who are also practicing artists plugged into Washington D.C.'s vibrant international art scene. Students benefit not only our from faculty's extraordinary expertise and experience, but also from their connections and access to many of the world's great collections of art treasures.

 

 

 

 

Administrators & Main Faculty Contacts (by program area):

Alexander Dumbadze
Program Head
dumbadze@gwu.edu

Andy Johnson
Program Administrator
cahist@gwu.edu

Johan Severtson
Program Head, Design
Professor of Graphic Design
jsevertson@gwu.edu

Barbara Brennan
Faculty Advisor, Exhibition Design
brennan1@gwu.edu

Kevin Patton
Professor of Interaction Design
kevinpatton@email.gwu.edu

Ariana Panbechi
Program Administrator
cdes@gwu.edu

Dean Kessmann
Program Head, Studio Arts
kessmann@gwu.edu

Susan Sterner
Faculty Advisor, New Media Photojournalism
ssterner@gwu.edu

Aziza Khan
Program Administrator
csarts@gwu.edu

Stephanie Travis
Program Head
stravis@gwu.edu

Liz Meitner
Program Administrator
ciarc@gwu.edu

Laura Schiavo
Program Head, Museum Studies
lschiavo@gwu.edu

Elizabeth Deans
Director of Graduate Studies, Decorative Arts & Design History
edeans@gwu.edu

Roxann Edwards
Program Administrator, Museum Studies
cmst@gwu.edu

Ariana Panbechi
Program Administrator, Decorative Arts & Design History
apanbechi@email.gwu.edu

Robert Baker
Program Head
rbaker@gwu.edu

Katelyn Hensel
Program Administrator
cmus@gwu.edu

Jodi Kanter
Program Head
jkanter@gwu.edu

Keri Schultz
Program Administrator
ctad@gwu.edu

photo of jon goldman teaching in exhibition design

Faculty Members:

David Bjelajac
Professor of Art History and American Studies

Alexander Dumbadze
Department Chair & Associate Professor of Art History

Cynthia Fischer
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Philip Jacks
Professor of Art History

Lisa Lipinski
Assistant Professor of Art History

Mika Natif
Assistant Professor of Art History
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Art History

Bibiana Obler
Associate Professor of Art History

Lilien F. Robinson
Professor of Art History

Cristin McKnight Sethi
Assistant Professor of Art History
Director of Graduate Studies, Art History

Barbara von Barghahn
Professor of Art History

Mika Yoshitake
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Elizabeth Chase
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Elizabeth Deans
Assistant Professor of Decorative Arts & Design History
Director of Graduate Studies, MA Decorative Arts & Design History Program

Heidi Nasstrom Evans
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Cynthia Fischer
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Oscar Fitzgerald
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
oscarfitzgerald@gwu.edu

Jennifer Goldsborough
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
jgoldsboroug81@gwu.edu

Cecilia Gunzburger
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Jeff Hardwick
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Erin Kuykendall
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Josephine Shea
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Stefanie Walker
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Cory Bernat
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
corybernat@gwu.edu

Barbara Brennan
Visiting Assistant Professor of Exhibition Design
Faculty Advisor, Graduate Exhibition Design

Nigel Briggs
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
nigel_b@gwu.edu

John Carmody
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Interactive Graphic Design

Alexander Cooper
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
coopera@gwu.edu

Naomi Crellin
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Exhibition Design

Jonathan Goldman
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Exhibition Design

Matt Guastaferro
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
mattguastaferro@gwu.edu

Nathan Hill
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
nathanjhill@email.gwu.edu

Ramona Hutko
Visiting Assistant Professor of Design

Mark Leithauser
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
mleithauser@gwu.edu

Julia Louie
Adjunct Professioral Lecturer of Exhibition Design
jlouie@email.gwu.edu

Robert McVerry
Adjunct Professioral Lecturer of Graphic Design
mcverry@email.gwu.edu

Michael Pacheco
Adjunct Professioral Lecturer
michael_pacheco@email.gwu.edu

Kevin Patton
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Interaction Design

Hyung Park
Adjunct Professioral Lecturer of Graphic Design
purplehouseclub@gmail.com

Johan Severtson
Program Head, Design
Professor of Graphic Design

Alvin Tsao
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Exhibition Design Fabrication

Margaret Adams
Assistant Professor of Photography

Omya Alston
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
omyaalston@yahoo.com

Mary Anne Arntzen
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Art

Julia Brown
Assistant Professor of Painting

Kelly Carr
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
kellycs@gwu.edu

Chan Chao
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Natalie Cheung
Adjunct Lecturer of Fine Arts

Jen Chua
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
jenchuastudios@gmail.com

Brian Davis
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
briandavis@email.gwu.edu

Georgia Deal
Professor of Fine Arts & Book Arts

Frank DiPerna
Professor of Photography

Chris Dolan
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
csdolan@gwu.edu

Matt Eich
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Photography

Todd Forsgren
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Photography

Suzanne Fox
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Sculpture

Janis Goodman
Professor of Fine Arts
Undergraduate Senior Thesis Coordinator

Kate Hardy
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Ceramics

Ryan Hill
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Luke Ikard
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
likard@mica.edu

Mariah Johnson
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Fine Art

Dean Kessmann
Program Head, Studio Arts
Associate Professor of Photography

Jonathan Latiano
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Sculpture
jlatiano@email.gwu.edu

Joe Madura
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
jmadura@email.gwu.edu

Kerry McAleer-Keeler
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Studio Arts
Associate Professor of Studio Art & Design

Maria del Carmen Montoya
Director of Undergraduate Studies, Studio Arts
Assistant Professor of Sculpture & Spatial Practices

Cory Oberndorfer
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Turker Ozdogan
Professor of Ceramics

David Page
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Fine Art

Justin Plakas
Visiting Assistant Professor of Fine Arts

Davide Prete
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Metalsmithing, Sculpture, & New Technologies

Siobhan Rigg
Associate Professor of New Media
Special Assistant for Curriculum Integration

Kevin Rohde
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Sculpture

Jennifer Sakai
Visiting Assistant Professor of Photography

Jay Turner Frey Seawell
Adjunct Professiorial Lecturer in Art

Sanjit Sethi
School Director
Associate Professor of Ceramics

James Sham
Director of Graduate Studies, MFA in Fine Arts
Assistant Professor of Innovation Arts

Benjamin Tankersley
Adjunct Professor of Photography & Photojournalism

Judit Varga
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
jvarga@gwu.edu

Mika Yoshitake
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Michael Abrams
Regular Part-Time Instructor

Catherine Anderson
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture

Jessica Bonness
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Christina Filipescu
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
cfilipescu@gwu.edu

Lena Ghanam
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
lenag@gwu.edu

Alek Jocic
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Scott Jones
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture & Design
scottjones@gwu.edu

Mary Jane King
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
mking01@gwu.edu

Joshua Moores
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
jmoores@gwu.edu

Steven Reynolds
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
sreynolds@gwu.edu

Erin Speck
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture
jespeck@gwu.edu

Matthew Stone
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
stonem@gwu.edu

Diane Taitt
Adjunct Professor

Stephanie Travis
Program Head, Interior Architecture
Associate Professor of Interior Architecture

Nadia Volchansky
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture
volna@gwu.edu

Suse Anderson
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies

Nik Apostolides
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Fiscal Management

Mary Coughlin
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies
Faculty Advisor for Museum Studies Distance Education

Daniel Davis
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museums & Digital Technologies

Michael Fetters
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

John Fleckner
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Catherine Hawkes
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Conservation

Ashley Hornish
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Exhibition Design & Graphics

Robert Horton
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Studies

Deborah Hull-Walski
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Collections Management

William "Jake" Jacobs
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Exhibition Design

Effie Kapsalis
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museums & Digital Technology

Thomas Kline
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museums & Cultural Property

Channah Norman
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museums & Cultural Property

Lisa Palmer
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Collections Management

Sasha Palmquist
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Studies

Kym Rice
Assistant Director, Academic Affairs
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies

Laura Schiavo
Program Head, Museum Studies
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies

Kathy Southern
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Fundraising

Shelley Sturman
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Conservation

Max van Balgooy
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Historic Houses & Sites

John Wetenhall
Associate Professor of Museum Studies

FULL TIME:

Karen Ahlquist
Associate Professor of Music

Robert Baker
Program Head, Music
Associate Professor of Music

Douglas Boyce
Associate Professor of Music

Eugene Montague
Assistant Professor of Music

Ning Yu
Assistant Professor of Music
 



ADJUNCT / PART TIME:
Faculty members are listed with their area of musical expertise.

John Albertson
Classical Guitar & Jazz Performance
jalbe@gwu.edu

Lori Barnet
Cello
lbarnet@gwu.edu

Robert Birch
Visiting Director of Bands
Trumpet

rmbirch@gwu.edu

Herman Burney
Jazz Bass
hburney@gwu.edu

Philip Carluzzo
Theory & Composition
drc1980@gwu.edu

Joe Connell
Percussion
jcrockett@gwu.edu

Gilbert Caridad Corella
Tuba
gcorella@gwu.edu

Alison Crockett
Jazz Voice
avcland@gwu.edu

Susan Derry
Voice
sderry@gwu.edu

Eric Dircksen
Bassoon
dircksen@gwu.edu

Magdalena Duhagon
Guitar
mduhagon@gwu.edu

Scott Fearing
French Horn
sfearing@gwu.edu

Lora Ferguson
Clarinet
loraferg@gwu.edu

Elizabeth Field
Violin
wsq@gwu.edu

Mary Findley
Violin
mfindley@gwu.edu

Peter Fraize
Classical & Jazz Saxophone
pfraize@gwu.edu

Eileen Morris Guenther
Pipe Organ
eguenther@gwu.edu

David Jones
Clarinet
dwjones@gwu.edu

James Levy
Jazz Piano, Jazz Band, Musicianship
jmlevy@gwu.edu

Carole Libelo
Oboe
cmlibelo@gwu.edu

Kip Lornell
Ethnomusicology
klornell@gwu.edu

Alejandro Lucini
Classical & Jazz Percussion
alucini@gwu.edu

Joseph Mann
Piano & English Musicology
mann@gwu.edu

Molly Orlando
Piano
orlandom@gwu.edu

Jon Ozment
Jazz Piano
ozment@gwu.edu

Malinee Peris
Piano & Chamber Ensembles
mperis@gwu.edu

David Perkel
Trombone
daveperkel1@gwu.edu

Amy Reiff
Voice
areiff@gwu.edu

Millicent Scarlett
Operatic Voice

millies@gwu.edu

David Sciannella
Trombone
dscian@gwu.edu

Barbara Seidman
Harp
bseidman@gwu.edu

Stephani Stang
Flute
sstang@gwu.edu

Michaela Trnkova
Harp
mtrnkova@gwu.edu

Uri Wassertzug
Violin & Viola
uriw@gwu.edu

Stephen Wellman
Voice
wellman@gwu.edu

Thaddeus Wilson
Jazz Trumpet
thadjazz@gwu.edu

A. Scott Wood
Director of Orchestral Activities
Music Directing & Conducting

ascottwood@gwu.edu

Gabriela Bulisova
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
gbulisova@gwu.edu
*currently on a project in Ukraine

Jasper Colt
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
jcolt@gwmail.gwu.edu

Frank DiPerna
Professor of Photography

Bill Douthitt
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Steve Elfers
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
selfers@gwu.edu

Michelle Frankfurter
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
sapuque@email.gwu.edu

Neva Grant
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
ngrant1@email.gwu.edu

Avi Gupta
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Photojournalism

Erin Haney
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
haneye@email.gwu.edu

Karen Kasmauski
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Jim Mole
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Astrid Riecken
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Photojournalism

Manuel Roig-Franzia
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
kqp9821@email.gwu.edu

Susan Sterner
Director of Graduate Studies, MFA in New Media Photojournalism
Director of Undergraduate Studies, BFA in Photojournalism
Associate Professor of New Media Photojournalism (MFA) and Photojournalism (BFA)

Benjamin Tankersley
Adjunct Professor of Photography & Photojournalism

Holly Yeager
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
holly_yeager@email.gwu.edu

Mary Buckley
Assistant Professor of Dance

Dana Tai Soon Burgess
Professor of Dance

Carl Gudenius
Professor of Production Design
Special Assistant for Productions & Performances

cfg@gwu.edu

Leslie Jacobson
Professor of Theatre

Sigrid Johannesdottir
Associate Professor of Costume Design & Technology
sigridj@gwu.edu

Jodi Kanter
Program Head, Theatre & Dance
Associate Professor of Theatre

jkanter@gwu.edu

John Traub
Assistant Professor of Production Management & Technology

Tanya Wetenhall
Assistant Professor of Design History

Maida Withers
Professor of Dance
withers@gwu.edu

William Wilson Corcoran Visiting Professors of Community Engagement:

The William Wilson Corcoran Visiting Professor position builds on the school’s robust community engagement legacy and enables the Corcoran to drive social change at the local level. By engaging directly with the D.C. community, this position, as well as future Corcoran-backed programs, enhance the school’s ability to listen and respond to the city’s broader needs.

“This visiting professorship allows the Corcoran to bring exciting individuals that are committed to the role creativity plays in addressing complex issues,” Mr. Sethi said.

Funding for the position comes from a grant administered by the Trustees of the Corcoran Gallery of Art. Successive individuals selected for this role will be chosen from the expanding field of socially and publicly engaged art practice.

photo of joseph kunkelJoseph Kunkel is a community designer and educator working on building capacity in Indian Country. His professional career has centered on community-based design, ranging from material research and fabrication, to community-based planning, design and development. His core design practices include, culturally appropriate design, community engagement, healthy housing design, design thinking, capacity building, urban mapping and way-finding design, native-to- place architecture, master and comprehensive planning. He is also a Northern Cheyenne Tribal Member.

Kunkel’s most recent work has been to research and share exemplary Native American Indian housing projects and processes nationwide and build and develop emerging best practices, which has lead to the development of an online Health Homes Road Map for affordable housing development in Indian Country,
funded by HUD’s Policy, Development, and Research Office. As an Enterprise Rose Architectural Fellow, Joseph worked directly with the Sustainable Native Communities Collaborative (SNCC), and the Santo Domingo Tribal Housing Authority (SDTHA). At the SDTHA Joseph assisted with the planning and development of a 41 unit Low-Income- Housing-Tax- Credit development, along with leading the housing comprehensive master plan, which started with an Our Town grant funded by the National Endowments for the Arts, and has led to an ArtPlace America grant award.

photo of mel chinMel Chin was born in Houston, Texas in 1951. Chin’s art, which is both analytical and poetic, evades easy classification. He is known for the broad range of approaches in his art, including works that require multi-disciplinary, collaborative teamwork and works that conjoin cross-cultural aesthetics with complex ideas.

Chin also insinuates art into unlikely places, including destroyed homes, toxic landfills, and even popular television, investigating how art can provoke greater social awareness and responsibility. He developed Revival Field (1989-ongoing), a project that has been a pioneer in the field of “green remediation,” the use of plants to remove toxic, heavy metals from the soil. From 1995-1998 he formed the collective, the GALA Committee, that produced In the Name of the Place, a conceptual public art project conducted on American prime-time television. In KNOWMAD, Chin worked with software engineers to create a video game based on rug patterns of nomadic people facing cultural disappearance. His film, 9-11/9-11, a hand-drawn, 24 minute, joint Chilean/USA Production, won the prestigious Pedro Sienna Award, for Best Animation, National Council for the Arts and Cultures, Chile, in 2007. Chin also promotes “works of art” that have the ultimate effect of benefiting science, as in Revival Field, and also in the recent Operation Paydirt/Fundred Dollar Bill Project, an attempt to make New Orleans a lead-safe city (see www.fundred.org.) These projects are consistent with a conceptual philosophy, which emphasizes the practice of art to include sculpting and bridging the natural and social ecology.

Chin’s work was documented in the popular PBS program, Art of the 21st Century. Chin has received numerous awards and grants from organizations such as the National Endowment for the Arts, New York State Council for the Arts, Art Matters, Creative Capital, and the Penny McCall, Pollock/Krasner, Joan Mitchell, Rockefeller and Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundations, among others.