Faculty

Faculty members at the Corcoran School are leading experts in art and design with ties to the most prestigious museums and art institutions in the world. They are dedicated educators who are also practicing artists plugged into Washington D.C.'s vibrant international art scene. Students benefit not only our from faculty's extraordinary expertise and experience, but also from their connections and access to many of the world's great collections of art treasures.

Margaret Adams
Assistant Professor of Photography
mhadams68@gwu.edu

David Bjelajac 
Professor of Art History and American Studies
202-994-7093
bjelajac@gwu.edu

Barbara Brennan 
Visiting Assistant Professor of Exhibition Design
202-994-0836
brennan1@gwu.edu

Julia Brown
Assistant Professor of Painting
202-994-9067
jmbrown@gwu.edu

Joseph Kunkel
William Wilson Corcoran Visiting Professor of Community Engaged Practices

Georgia Deal
Professor of Printmaking 
gld12@gwu.edu

Frank DiPerna
Professor of Photography and Photojournalism
fdiperna@gwu.edu

Alexander Dumbadze
Program Head, Art History

Associate Professor of Art History
202-994-6085
dumbadze@gwu.edu

Janis Goodman
Professor of Fine Arts
jgg5128@gwu.edu

Philip Jacks
Associate Professor of Art History
202-994-6914
pjacks@gwu.edu

Scott Jones
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture, Corcoran Interior Design Advisor
scottjones@gwu.edu

Dean Kessmann
Program Head, Studio Arts

Associate Professor of Photography
202-994-6514
kessmann@gwu.edu

Lisa Lipinski
Assistant Professor of Art History
llipinski@gwu.edu

Kerry McAleer-Keeler
Associate Professor of Art and Design
kmk@gwu.edu

Cristin McKnight Sethi
Assistant Professor of Art History and Director of Graduate Studies, Art History
202-994-7656
cristin@gwu.edu

Maria del Carmen Montoya
Assistant Professor of Sculpture and Spatial Practices
202-994-6008
carmen@gwu.edu

Mika Natif
Assistant Professor of Art History
202-994-8548
mmn215@gwu.edu

Bibiana Obler
Associate Professor of Art History and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Art History
202-994-4839
bobler@gwu.edu

Turker Ozdogan
Professor of Ceramics
202-994-6453
turkoz@gwu.edu

Justin Plakas
Visiting Assistant Professor of Fine Arts
plakas@gwu.edu

Siobhan Rigg
Special Assistant for Curriculum Integration, Corcoran School of the Arts and Design
Associate Professor of New Media
202-994-6085
srigg@gwu.edu

Lilien F. Robinson
Professor of Art History
202-994-7094
lfr@gwu.edu

Jennifer Sakai
Visiting Assistant Professor of Photography
jennifersakai@gwu.edu

Johan Severtson
Program Head, Design

Professor of Graphic Design
jsevertson@gwu.edu

James Sham
Assistant Professor of Innovation Arts and Director of Graduate Studies, Fine Arts
202-994-6089
mrsham@gwu.edu

Susan Sterner
Program Head for New Media Photojournalism, Associate Professor of New Media Photojournalism
ssterner@gwu.edu

Barbara von Barghahn
Professor of Art History
202-994-8653
bvb@gwu.edu