Faculty

Faculty members at the Corcoran School are leading experts in art and design with ties to the most prestigious museums and art institutions in the world. They are dedicated educators who are also practicing artists plugged into Washington D.C.'s vibrant international art scene. Students benefit not only our from faculty's extraordinary expertise and experience, but also from their connections and access to many of the world's great collections of art treasures.

Margaret Adams
Assistant Professor of Photography
mhadams68@gwu.edu

Karen Ahlquist
Associate Professor of Music
202-994-6270
ahlquist@gwu.edu

Catherine Anderson
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture
202-242-6707
catand@gwu.edu

Robert Baker
Program Head, Music
Associate Professor of Music
202-994-9043
rbaker@gwu.edu

David Bjelajac 
Professor of Art History and American Studies
202-994-7093
bjelajac@gwu.edu

Douglas Boyce
Associate Professor of Music
202-994-6338
dboyce@gwu.edu

Barbara Brennan 
Visiting Assistant Professor of Exhibition Design
202-994-0836
brennan1@gwu.edu

Julia Brown
Assistant Professor of Painting
202-994-9067
jmbrown@gwu.edu

Mary Buckley
Assistant Professor of Dance
202-270-7161
buckley@gwu.edu

Dana Tai Soon Burgess
Associate Professor of Dance
202-994-8072
dtsb@gwu.edu

Susan Cairns
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies
202-994-7030
scairns@gwu.edu

Mary Coughlin
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies
202-994-7030
coughlin@gwu.edu

Joseph Kunkel
William Wilson Corcoran Visiting Professor of Community Engaged Practices
josephkunkel@gwu.edu

Georgia Deal
Professor of Printmaking 
gld12@gwu.edu

Elizabeth Deans
Assistant Professor of Decorative Arts & Design History
202-633-8651 
edeans@gwu.edu

Frank DiPerna
Professor of Photography and Photojournalism
fdiperna@gwu.edu

Alexander Dumbadze
Program Head, Art History  
Associate Professor of Art History
202-994-6085
dumbadze@gwu.edu

Janis Goodman
Professor of Fine Arts
jgg5128@gwu.edu

Carl Gudenius
Special Assistant for Productions and Performances
Professor of Production Design
202-994-0740
cfg@gwu.edu

Philip Jacks
Associate Professor of Art History
202-994-6914
pjacks@gwu.edu

Leslie Jacobson
Professor of Theatre
202-994-7072
lesliej@gwu.edu

Sigridur Johannesdottir
Assistant Professor of Costume Design and Technology
202-994-0488
sigridj@gwu.edu

Scott Jones
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture
scottjones@gwu.edu

Jodi Kanter
Program Head, Theatre and Dance
Associate Professor of Theatre
202-994-6305
jkanter@gwu.edu

Dean Kessmann
Program Head, Studio Arts
Associate Professor of Photography
202-994-6514
kessmann@gwu.edu

Lisa Lipinski
Assistant Professor of Art History
llipinski@gwu.edu

Kerry McAleer-Keeler
Associate Professor of Art and Design
kmk@gwu.edu

Cristin McKnight Sethi
Assistant Professor of Art History and Director of Graduate Studies, Art History
202-994-7656
cristin@gwu.edu

Eugene Montague
Assistant Professor of Music
202-994-8563
eugene_m@gwu.edu

Maria del Carmen Montoya
Assistant Professor of Sculpture and Spatial Practices
202-994-6008
carmen@gwu.edu

Mika Natif
Assistant Professor of Art History and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Art History
202-994-8548
mmn215@gwu.edu

Bibiana Obler
Associate Professor of Art History
202-994-4839
bobler@gwu.edu

Turker Ozdogan
Professor of Ceramics
202-994-6453
turkoz@gwu.edu

Kevin Patton
Assistant Professor of Interaction Design
kevinpatton@gwu.edu

Justin Plakas
Visiting Assistant Professor of Fine Arts
plakas@gwu.edu

Kym Rice
Assistant Director for Academic Affairs
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies
202-994-1700
kym@gwu.edu

Siobhan Rigg
Special Assistant for Curriculum Integration
Associate Professor of New Media
202-994-6085
srigg@gwu.edu

Lilien F. Robinson
Professor of Art History
202-994-7094
lfr@gwu.edu

Jennifer Sakai
Visiting Assistant Professor of Photography
jennifersakai@gwu.edu

Laura Schiavo
Program Head, Museum Studies
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies
lschiavo@gwu.edu

Sanjit Sethi
School Director
Associate Professor of Ceramics
202-994-1700
sanjit@gwu.edu

Johan Severtson
Program Head, Design
Professor of Graphic Design
jsevertson@gwu.edu

James Sham
Assistant Professor of "Innovation Arts"
202-994-6089
mrsham@gwu.edu

Erin Speck
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture 
202-242-6705
jespeck@gwu.edu

Susan Sterner
Associate Professor of New Media Photojournalism, Faculty Advisor for New Media Photojournalism
ssterner@gwu.edu

John Traub
Assistant Professor of Production Management and Technology
jtraub@gwu.edu

Stephanie Travis
Program Head, Interior Architecture 
Associate Professor of Interior Architecture
202-242-6699
stravis@gwu.edu

Nadia Volchansky
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture 
202-242-6704
volna@gwu.edu

Barbara von Barghahn
Professor of Art History
202-994-8653
bvb@gwu.edu

Tanya Wetenhall
Assistant Professor of Design
202-994-7662
twetenhall@gwu.edu

Maida Withers
Professor of Dance
202-994-0739
withers@gwu.edu

Ning Yu
Assistant Professor of Music
ningyu@gwu.edu