Faculty

photo of professor helping with photography spread

 

Faculty members at the Corcoran School are leading experts in art and design with ties to the most prestigious museums and art institutions in the world. They are dedicated educators who are also practicing artists plugged into Washington D.C.'s vibrant international art scene. Students benefit not only our from faculty's extraordinary expertise and experience, but also from their connections and access to many of the world's great collections of art treasures.

 

Administrators & Main Faculty Contacts (by program area):

 

Art History

  • Undergraduate / Graduate Art History

Design

  • Undergraduate Graphic Design
  • Undergraduate / Graduate Interaction Design
  • Graduate Exhibition Design

Interior Architecture

  • Undergraduate Interior Architecture
  • Graduate Interior Architecture

Museum Studies

  • Graduate Decorative Arts & Design History
  • Graduate Museum Studies

 

Music

  • Undergraduate Music

Studio Arts

  • Undergraduate Fine Art
  • Undergraduate Fine Art Photography
  • Undergraduate Photojournalism
  • Graduate Fine Art
  • Graduate New Media Photojournalism
  • Graduate Social Practice & Public Policy

Theatre & Dance

  • Undergraduate Theatre
  • Undergraduate Dance
  • Graduate Classical Acting
  • Graduate Production Design

 

Program Head:
Alexander Dumbadze
dumbadze@gwu.edu

Program Administrator:
Andy Johnson
cahist@gwu.edu

Undergraduate Advisor:
Mika Natif
mmn215@gwu.edu

Graduate Advisor:
Cristin McKnight Sethi
cristin@gwu.edu

Program Head:
Johan Severtson
jsevertson@gwu.edu

Program Administrator:
Ariana Panbechi
cdes@gwu.edu

Undergraduate Advisors:

Graphic Design:
Johan Severtson
jsevertson@gwu.edu

Interaction Design:
Kevin Patton
kevinpatton@gwu.edu

Graduate Advisors:

Exhibition Design:
Barbara Brennan
brennan1@gwu.edu

Interaction Design:
Kevin Patton
kevinpatton@gwu.edu

 

Program Head:
Stephanie Travis
stravis@gwu.edu

Program Administrator:
Liz Meitner
ciarc@gwu.edu

Undergraduate Advisor:
Scott Jones
scottjones@gwu.edu

Graduate Advisor:
Erin Speck
jespeck@gwu.edu

Decorative Arts & Design History:

Graduate Advisor:
Elizabeth Deans
edeans@gwu.edu

Program Administrator:
Ariana Panbechi
apanbechi@email.gwu.edu

Museum Studies:

Program Head:
Laura Schiavo
lschiavo@gwu.edu

Program Administrator:
Roxann Edwards
cmst@gwu.edu

Program Head:
Robert Baker
rbaker@gwu.edu

Program Administrator:
Katelyn Hensel
cmus@gwu.edu

Undergraduate Advisor:
Eugene Montague
eugene_m@gwu.edu

Program Head:
Dean Kessmann
kessmann@gwu.edu

Program Administrator:
Aziza Khan
csarts@gwu.edu

Undergraduate Advisors:

Fine Art, last names A-K
Kerry McAleer-Keeler
kmk@email.gwu.edu

Fine Art, last names L-Z
Maria del Carmen Montoya
carmen@gwu.edu

Photojournalism
Susan Sterner
ssterner@gwu.edu

Graduate Advisors:

Fine Art
James Sham
mrsham@gwu.edu

New Media Photojournalism
Susan Sterner
ssterner@gwu.edu

Social Practice & Public Policy
Maria del Carmen Montoya
carmen@gwu.edu

Program Head:
Jodi Kanter
jikanter@gwu.edu

Program Administrator:
Keri Schultz
ctad@gwu.edu

photo of jon goldman teaching in exhibition design

Faculty Members:

David Bjelajac
Professor of Art History and American Studies

Alexander Dumbadze
Department Chair & Associate Professor of Art History

Cynthia Fischer
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Philip Jacks
Professor of Art History

Lisa Lipinski
Assistant Professor of Art History

Mika Natif
Assistant Professor of Art History
Undergraduate Advisor, Art History

Bibiana Obler
Associate Professor of Art History

Lilien F. Robinson
Professor of Art History

Cristin McKnight Sethi
Assistant Professor of Art History
Graduate Advisor, Art History

Barbara von Barghahn
Professor of Art History

Mika Yoshitake
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Elizabeth Chase
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Elizabeth Deans
Assistant Professor of Decorative Arts & Design History
Graduate Advisor, Decorative Arts & Design History

Heidi Nasstrom Evans
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Cynthia Fischer
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Oscar Fitzgerald
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Jennifer Goldsborough
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Cecilia Gunzburger
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Jeff Hardwick
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Erin Kuykendall
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Josephine Shea
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Stefanie Walker
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Barbara Brennan
Faculty Advisor, Graduate Exhibition Design
Visiting Assistant Professor of Exhibition Design

Nigel Briggs
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
nigel_b@gwu.edu

Alexander Cooper
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
coopera@gwu.edu

Naomi Crellin
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Exhibition Design

Jonathan Goldman
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Exhibition Design

Donna Kirk
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
donnakirk@gwu.edu

Mark Leithauser
Adjunct Professional Lecturer
mleithauser@gwu.edu

Julia Louie
Adjunct Professioral Lecturer of Exhibition Design
jlouie@email.gwu.edu

Sydney M. Luken
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Exhibition Design

Alvin Tsao
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Exhibition Design Fabrication

Omya Alston
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
omyaalston@yahoo.com

Mary Anne Arntzen
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Art

Julia Brown
Assistant Professor of Painting

Kelly Carr
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
kellycs@gwu.edu

Chan Chao
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Natalie Cheung
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Jen Chua
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
jenchuastudios@gmail.com

Brian Davis
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Georgia Deal
Professor of Fine Arts & Book Arts

Chris Dolan
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
csdolan@gwu.edu

Suzanne Fox
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Sculpture

Janis Goodman
Professor of Fine Arts
Undergraduate Senior Thesis Coordinator

Kate Hardy
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Ceramics

Ryan Hill
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Mariah Johnson
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Jonathan Latiano
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Sculpture
jlatiano@email.gwu.edu

Joe Madura
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
jmadura@email.gwu.edu

Kerry McAleer-Keeler
Undergraduate Advisor, Fine Art
Associate Professor of Studio Art & Design

Maria del Carmen Montoya
Undergraduate Advisor, Fine Art
Graduate Advisor, Social Practice & Public Policy
Assistant Professor of Sculpture & Spatial Practices

Cory Oberndorfer
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Painting & Drawing

Turker Ozdogan
Professor of Ceramics

David Page
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Fine Art

Justin Plakas
Visiting Assistant Professor of Fine Arts

Davide Prete
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Metalsmithing, Sculpture, & New Technologies

Siobhan Rigg
Associate Professor of New Media
Special Assistant for Curriculum Integration

Kevin Rohde
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Sculpture

Jay Turner Frey Seawell
Adjunct Professiorial Lecturer in Art

Sanjit Sethi
School Director
Associate Professor of Ceramics

James Sham
Graduate Advisor, Fine Art
Assistant Professor of Innovation Arts

Judit Varga
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
jvarga@gwu.edu

Mika Yoshitake
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Margaret Adams
Assistant Professor of Photography

Gabriela Bulisova
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ
gbulisova@gwu.edu
*currently on a project in Ukraine

Jasper Colt
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ

Frank DiPerna
Professor of Photography

Bill Douthitt
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ

Matt Eich
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Photography

Steve Elfers
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ
selfers@gwu.edu

Todd Forsgren
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Photography

Michelle Frankfurter
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ

Neva Grant
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ

Avi Gupta
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Photojournalism & NMPJ

Erin Haney
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ
haneye@email.gwu.edu

Karen Kasmauski
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of NMPJ

Dean Kessmann
Program Head, Studio Arts
Associate Professor of Photography

Jim Mole
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ

Astrid Riecken
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Photojournalism & NMPJ

Manuel Roig-Franzia
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ

Jennifer Sakai
Visiting Assistant Professor of Photography

Susan Sterner
Graduate Advisor, New Media Photojournalism
Undergraduate Advisor, Photojournalism
Associate Professor of Photojournalism & NMPJ

Benjamin Tankersley
Adjunct Professor of Photography & Photojournalism

Holly Yeager
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ

Erica Wortham
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of NMPJ
ewortham@gwu.edu

John Carmody
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Interactive Graphic Design

Matt Guastaferro
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Graphic Design & Digital Media Design
mattguastaferro@gwu.edu

Nathan Hill
Adjunct Professional Lecturer of Graphic Design
nathanjhill@email.gwu.edu

Ramona Hutko
Visiting Assistant Professor of Graphic Design

Richard Jenrette
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Graphic Design
rjenrette@gwu.edu

Robert McVearry
Adjunct Professioral Lecturer of Graphic Design
mcvearry@email.gwu.edu

Michael Pacheco
Adjunct Professioral Lecturer of Graphic Design & Digital Media Design
michael_pacheco@email.gwu.edu

Nancy Palm
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Graphic Design
nancypalm@gwu.edu

Hyung Park
Adjunct Professioral Lecturer of Graphic Design
purplehouseclub@gmail.com

Kevin Patton
Assistant Professor of Interaction Design
Undergraduate & Graduate Advisor, Interaction Design

Johan Severtson
Program Head, Design
Professor of Graphic Design

Michael Abrams
Regular Part-Time Instructor

Catherine Anderson
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture

Jessica Bonness
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Christina Filipescu
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Lena Ghannam
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Alek Jocic
Adjunct Professional Lecturer

Scott Jones
Undergraduate Advisor, Interior Architecture
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture

Mary Jane King
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Joshua Moores
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Steven Reynolds
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Erin Speck
Graduate Advisor, Interior Architecture
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture

Matthew Stone
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
stonem@gwu.edu

Diane Taitt
Adjunct Professor

Stephanie Travis
Program Head, Interior Architecture
Associate Professor of Interior Architecture

Nadia Volchansky
Assistant Professor of Interior Architecture

Suse Anderson
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies

Nik Apostolides
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Fiscal Management

Mary Coughlin
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies
Faculty Advisor for Museum Studies Distance Education

Liz Danter
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Evaluation

Daniel Davis
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museums & Digital Technologies

Michael Fetters
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Catharine Hawks
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Conservation

Ashley Hornish
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Exhibition Design & Graphics

Robert Horton
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Studies

Deborah Hull-Walski
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Collections Management

Effie Kapsalis
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museums & Digital Technology

Thomas Kline
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museums & Cultural Property

Rena Lipman Opert
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museums & Cultural Property
renalipman@yahoo.com

Lisa Palmer
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Collections Management

Sasha Palmquist
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Studies

Kym Rice
Assistant Director, Academic Affairs
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies

Laura Schiavo
Program Head, Museum Studies
Assistant Professor of Museum Studies

Kathy Southern
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Fundraising

Shelley Sturman
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Museum Conservation

Max van Balgooy
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer of Historic Houses & Sites

John Wetenhall
Associate Professor of Museum Studies

FULL TIME:

Karen Ahlquist
Associate Professor of Music

Robert Baker
Program Head, Music
Associate Professor of Music

Douglas Boyce
Associate Professor of Music

Eugene Montague
Undergraduate Advisor, Music
Assistant Professor of Music

Ning Yu
Assistant Professor of Music
 



ADJUNCT / PART TIME:
Faculty members are listed with their area of musical expertise.

John Albertson
Classical Guitar & Jazz Performance
jalbe@gwu.edu

Lori Barnet
Cello
lbarnet@gwu.edu

Robert Birch
Visiting Director of Bands
Trumpet

rmbirch@gwu.edu

Herman Burney
Jazz Bass
hburney@gwu.edu

Philip Carluzzo
Theory & Composition
drc1980@gwu.edu

Joe Connell
Percussion
jcrockett@gwu.edu

Gilbert Caridad Corella
Tuba
gcorella@gwu.edu

Alison Crockett
Jazz Voice
avcland@gwu.edu

Susan Derry
Voice
sderry@gwu.edu

Eric Dircksen
Bassoon
dircksen@gwu.edu

Magdalena Duhagon
Guitar
mduhagon@gwu.edu

Scott Fearing
French Horn
sfearing@gwu.edu

Lora Ferguson
Clarinet
loraferg@gwu.edu

Elizabeth Field
Violin
wsq@gwu.edu

Mary Findley
Violin
mfindley@gwu.edu

Peter Fraize
Classical & Jazz Saxophone
pfraize@gwu.edu

Eileen Morris Guenther
Pipe Organ
eguenther@gwu.edu

David Jones
Clarinet
dwjones@gwu.edu

James Levy
Jazz Piano, Jazz Band, Musicianship
jmlevy@gwu.edu

Carole Libelo
Oboe
cmlibelo@gwu.edu

Kip Lornell
Ethnomusicology
klornell@gwu.edu

Alejandro Lucini
Classical & Jazz Percussion
alucini@gwu.edu

Joseph Mann
Piano & English Musicology
mann@gwu.edu

Molly Orlando
Piano
orlandom@gwu.edu

Jon Ozment
Jazz Piano
ozment@gwu.edu

Malinee Peris
Piano & Chamber Ensembles
mperis@gwu.edu

David Perkel
Trombone
daveperkel1@gwu.edu

Amy Reiff
Voice
areiff@gwu.edu

Millicent Scarlett
Operatic Voice

millies@gwu.edu

David Sciannella
Trombone
dscian@gwu.edu

Barbara Seidman
Harp
bseidman@gwu.edu

Stephani Stang
Flute
sstang@gwu.edu

Michaela Trnkova
Harp
mtrnkova@gwu.edu

Uri Wassertzug
Violin & Viola
uriw@gwu.edu

Stephen Wellman
Voice
wellman@gwu.edu

Thaddeus Wilson
Jazz Trumpet
thadjazz@gwu.edu

A. Scott Wood
Director of Orchestral Activities
Music Directing & Conducting

ascottwood@gwu.edu

Mary Buckley
Associate Professor of Dance

Dana Tai Soon Burgess
Professor of Dance

Carl Gudenius
Professor of Production Design
Special Assistant for Productions & Performances

cfg@gwu.edu

Leslie Jacobson
Professor of Theatre

Sigrid Johannesdottir
Associate Professor of Costume Design & Technology
sigridj@gwu.edu

Jodi Kanter
Associate Professor of Theatre
Program Head, Theatre & Dance

Elizabeth Kitsos-Kang
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer
kitsos@gwu.edu

Allyson Currin Stokes
Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

John Traub
Assistant Professor of Production Management & Technology

Tanya Wetenhall
Assistant Professor of Design History

Maida Withers
Professor of Dance
withers@gwu.edu

William Wilson Corcoran Visiting Professors of Community Engagement:

The William Wilson Corcoran Visiting Professor position builds on the school’s robust community engagement legacy and enables the Corcoran to drive social change at the local level. By engaging directly with the D.C. community, this position, as well as future Corcoran-backed programs, enhance the school’s ability to listen and respond to the city’s broader needs.

“This visiting professorship allows the Corcoran to bring exciting individuals that are committed to the role creativity plays in addressing complex issues,” Mr. Sethi said.

Funding for the position comes from a grant administered by the Trustees of the Corcoran Gallery of Art. Successive individuals selected for this role will be chosen from the expanding field of socially and publicly engaged art practice.

photo of joseph kunkelJoseph Kunkel is a community designer and educator working on building capacity in Indian Country. His professional career has centered on community-based design, ranging from material research and fabrication, to community-based planning, design and development. His core design practices include, culturally appropriate design, community engagement, healthy housing design, design thinking, capacity building, urban mapping and way-finding design, native-to- place architecture, master and comprehensive planning. He is also a Northern Cheyenne Tribal Member.

Kunkel’s most recent work has been to research and share exemplary Native American Indian housing projects and processes nationwide and build and develop emerging best practices, which has lead to the development of an online Health Homes Road Map for affordable housing development in Indian Country,
funded by HUD’s Policy, Development, and Research Office. As an Enterprise Rose Architectural Fellow, Joseph worked directly with the Sustainable Native Communities Collaborative (SNCC), and the Santo Domingo Tribal Housing Authority (SDTHA). At the SDTHA Joseph assisted with the planning and development of a 41 unit Low-Income- Housing-Tax- Credit development, along with leading the housing comprehensive master plan, which started with an Our Town grant funded by the National Endowments for the Arts, and has led to an ArtPlace America grant award.

photo of mel chinMel Chin was born in Houston, Texas in 1951. Chin’s art, which is both analytical and poetic, evades easy classification. He is known for the broad range of approaches in his art, including works that require multi-disciplinary, collaborative teamwork and works that conjoin cross-cultural aesthetics with complex ideas.

Chin also insinuates art into unlikely places, including destroyed homes, toxic landfills, and even popular television, investigating how art can provoke greater social awareness and responsibility. He developed Revival Field (1989-ongoing), a project that has been a pioneer in the field of “green remediation,” the use of plants to remove toxic, heavy metals from the soil. From 1995-1998 he formed the collective, the GALA Committee, that produced In the Name of the Place, a conceptual public art project conducted on American prime-time television. In KNOWMAD, Chin worked with software engineers to create a video game based on rug patterns of nomadic people facing cultural disappearance. His film, 9-11/9-11, a hand-drawn, 24 minute, joint Chilean/USA Production, won the prestigious Pedro Sienna Award, for Best Animation, National Council for the Arts and Cultures, Chile, in 2007. Chin also promotes “works of art” that have the ultimate effect of benefiting science, as in Revival Field, and also in the recent Operation Paydirt/Fundred Dollar Bill Project, an attempt to make New Orleans a lead-safe city (see www.fundred.org.) These projects are consistent with a conceptual philosophy, which emphasizes the practice of art to include sculpting and bridging the natural and social ecology.

Chin’s work was documented in the popular PBS program, Art of the 21st Century. Chin has received numerous awards and grants from organizations such as the National Endowment for the Arts, New York State Council for the Arts, Art Matters, Creative Capital, and the Penny McCall, Pollock/Krasner, Joan Mitchell, Rockefeller and Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundations, among others.