The Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area (“The Consortium”) consists of seventeen (17) colleges and universities in the District of Columbia and contiguous counties in Maryland and Virginia that serve nearly 290,000 students. The following offer programs that are of particular interest to DADH students:

American University
The Catholic University of America
George Mason University
Georgetown University
Howard University
University of Maryland College Park


The interconnected Consortium members provide enhanced education benefits to students andto the District and region that few other colleges and universities can match. Students receive an enhanced educational experience because they may cross-register for courses at other Consortium member institutions. Faculty research collaborations bring hundreds of millions of dollars in research grants and contracts annually (which result in hiring and spending) into the District and region that ultimately spin off intellectual property and new companies. Above all, Consortium institutions focus on three overarching goals: creating an educated populace;creating a platform for collaboration and innovation; and creating the District’s and the region’s knowledge economy.

The George Washington University offers its qualified undergraduate and graduate degree-seeking students the opportunity to enroll in courses at American University, The Catholic University of AmericaGallaudet University, George Mason University, Georgetown University, Howard University, Marymount University, Montgomery College, Northern Virginia Community College, Prince George's Community CollegeTrinity Washington University, the University of the District of Columbia and the University of Maryland-College Park